I found a Chateau Ksara 1992

I stumbled on this at the supermarket. I took a gamble because it was the blend of Cabernet Sauvignon, Cinsault and Carignan that intrigued me. I decanted it at 5pm and had my first sip at 8pm with a salad of chicken, lettuce and green peppers with a minimal dressing of oil, lemon and salt with Miles Davis “Someday my Prince will Come” on in the background

It has elegant structure with beautiful languid tannins; a nose of Mediterranean berry fruits amid thyme, aniseed and the sun-baked thistle. It is luscious and gamey in the mouth with a sustained fruity finish. A taste of Lebanese wine aristocracy.

For those who despair at Musar (I am not one) it is a similar blend without the VA, one that removes the shackles of anonymous international modernity that afflicts many of today’s wines and reminds us of the uniqueness of Lebanon’s terroir. Great use of Carignan and Cinsault. Ksara’s ‘Chateau’ wines are today made with Cabernet Sauvignon Merlot and Petit Verdot. I prefer this style. And at $21 (in Lebanon) it’s worth the experience.

Mrs Karam was out with friends. By the time she came home it had gone and I was snoozing on the sofa listening to Something Else by Canonball Adderly. Perfection.

PS I wonder how many are left or indeed why Chateau Ksara decided to release such a random vintage.

 

 

Leave a Reply

